Tokyo Girls Style – when lolis perform mature songs better than most adults do.

So I wanted to write a post about 7!! (read as “seven oops”) really, but figured it’s too soon when they only have 2 singles out so far (i.e. keep your eyes out for them ’cause I’ll be mentioning them again if this blog still lives by then). Instead, I’ll be introducing the newest loli group that’s gotten me hooked (as if loving Matsui Jurina wasn’t enough to make me feel like a pedo), Tokyo Girls Style (Tokyo Joshiryu if you like your Japanese).

What’s so special about TGS you ask? Well, for the first time in my life, I can put a hand to my heart and say that I loved a girl group purely for their music. I’m dead serious here.

To start off, the group consists of 5 girls, currently aged between 13 and 15, with roles spread out evenly within the group. In other words, not all of them sing the same amount of lines, and the best dancers are given a chance to shine. From what I’ve seen, pretty much everyone agrees that Ayano and Hitomi are the best singers, and guess what, they’re the group’s main vocalists so hurray, Avex does things right. Mei is by far the best dancer, and we can see plenty of that in their debut single’s PV, Kirari.

Miyu is the eldest and the group’s official leader (it even specifically says so on their official site). The only one left is my personal favorite, Yuri. She’s erm, crazy, which is fun, kinda, and I personally find her to be the prettiest, so voila, it all balances out!

The group was introduced last year on January 1st, and are labeled as a “Girls “Dance & Vocal” Group from AVEX” though to be honest most people would just pass them off as idols. I did at first, but not anymore. They made their CD debut last year too, on May 5th (my birthday, what are the chances) and have released an album and 7 singles so far (their latest having gone on sale just a week ago).

If you’ve checked the two videos I’ve linked so far, you’ll probably be seeing the gist of it by now. Their sound is far from cutesy, and their dances plenty elaborate and well executed. It’s like a breath of fresh air from all the uninventive girl groups that plague the music industry lately.

The first thing I ever heard from them is their cover of Boku no Tegami on the ZONE tribute album that was released not all that long ago. The album is filled with girl groups (Sphere, ClariS, Tomato n’ Pine, bump.y, etc.) but TGS’ funky arrangements immediately stood out from the rest when I was listening. And that’s exactly their music’s biggest selling point in my opinion, the arrangements.

TGS has a solid beat present in most of their songs that can immediately be linked to them, yet their songs still diverge enough from one another to not sound recycled or uninspired. I haven’t found the time to dig through all their singles yet, but from the album alone I can easily say that they’ve got songs of plenty of varieties. Yes even cutesy stuff, it’s just not “omg someone plz check my blood sugar level” cute, y’know?

Kodou no Himitsu is the song that totally sealed the deal for me. I spent an entire day looping it by itself, and I thought I was over doing that kind of stuff now. It’s the first track on the album, which shares the same name, but with a longer intro added to it, sucking you into the mood of the album immediately.

Aside from the awesome music, there’s also the nice fact that they hold weekly live performances, which actually get aired on ustream too. They also don’t lipsync, but I’ve yet to decide whether that’s a good thing or not. At least it doesn’t seem to affect their brilliant dancing though, so that’s alright I guess.

The girls all have their separate official twitter accounts, as well as an account for the group that always updates with info and the like. It really is nice stuff for us people who are cursed with living outside of the holy land T_T

And that pretty much concludes my fangirling post. In case you didn’t get it, I really like this group now, and there’s plenty of reason for others to like them too, so I’m sharing what info I’ve gathered over the short period of time I’ve known them, in hopes of getting more people interested in this quintet of talented girls.

I just hope Avex doesn’t give up on them all that soon (sales aren’t so great really…) because I’d like to see plenty more TGS in the future!

I love Yuri's many hats the most actually =x

5 responses to “Tokyo Girls Style – when lolis perform mature songs better than most adults do.

  1. Dream Eater (@Mewtwo1928) October 2, 2011 at 1:53 am

    Thank You, i’m also new to TGS and a friend of mine suggested me to give them a chance, so this post was very useful. THANKS ^_^

  2. Black Gekikara November 2, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Junti got into TGS as well, six days ago actually, and all I can say is that

    WHAT THE HELL HAVE I BEEN DOING?!!!

    I so totally dismissed them during the 2010 Idol Music Festival and boy do I regret it!

    Now I just can’t have enough. And as I looked on the Net to quench my TGS thirst, I came upon this great post.

    I am not great at dissecting music so I always look to others who are better than me and I love what you wrote here.

    Thanks.

    Now to hunt down your other TGS posts…

    • rehikari November 2, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      Unfortunately, I don’t have any other TGS posts (as far as I remember anyway) ;_; I got into them not too long before writing this post, and never really had the time to blog in general after writing this >.< (actually isn't this my latest post on this blog?)

      Still, glad to see you liked the post =D And of course, welcome to TGS fandom too \o/ As the saying goes, better late than never, no? ;p

  3. ariana January 1, 2012 at 4:27 am

    I don’t understand why they are not doing so well! This is a great group, really good considering their ages. I’m about the same age as them, and I probably can’t do half the stuff they do!