[Review] Some Recently Released Anison

*pokes reader* Oi, blog’s not dead yet!

So yeah, the title this time around should give enough of an idea about the content of this post. Let’s just get on with work shall we.

The good:

Ishikawa Chiaki – Fukanzen Nenshou / Switch ga Haittara (Kamisama Dolls OP/ED)
Spanish guitars all over Fukanzen Nenshou? This isn’t some 80s idol song, this is Ishikawa Chiaki at her best. I’ve loved Ishikawa’s work since her Uninstall single, and it’s nice to see her still coming up with different kinds of music. Fukanzen Nenshou might come off as awkward on first listen, but Ishikawa’s brilliant vocals always bring one in for another listen, and that’s where you’ll fall in love. Switch ga Haittara on the other hand is somewhat weaker, but still has the same effect. Not quite slow enough to be called a ballad, but it’s a relaxing song befitting of an ending theme. Needless to say, the win point is the vocals, be it Ishikawa’s voice, or the backing vocals.

Katate Size (Hirano Aya, Horie Yui, Maeda Ai) – Orange Smile (Nurarihyon no Mago Sennen Makyou ED)
I have no idea what it is about this seiyuu unit that despite all the odds, seems to get such nice songs. While this single isn’t as good as the first one they released, it’s better than the second, which was pretty good too. The title song is a cute catchy tune that kinda does make you want to smile, while the c/w, Lime Night, is a slower and more serious song, also very different from what one would expect coming into this kind of unit. I wonder if calling them the Perfume of the seiyuu world would be appropriate? A shame they’re only around for the Nurarihyon anime…

Kasarinchu – Yamerarenai Tomarenai / High High High (Usagi Drop ED)
Partly because I’m biased when it comes to Usagi Drop (Rin <3) and partly because I really like this kind of laid back acoustic sound. There are 4 songs on this single, and 3 of them really hit home with me (the one that doesn't is Yamerarenai Tomarenai btw). So yeah, recommended for those who like おっさん music I guess.

nano.RIPE – Omokage Warp (Hanasaku Iroha OP)
Are you used to Kimiko’s voice yet? No? Then you haven’t listened to nano.RIPE enough! So yeah, aside from the squeaky vocals that might, or might not, turn more than one person off, nano.RIPE delivers yet another strong rock-ish single. Actually, I consider this single to be their weakest to date since they got their contract with Lantis, but the band’s solid style is definitely still there.

Nanri Yuuka – Kiseki (Sacred Seven ED)
After the awesome single that was Shizuku, I’m glad that Yuuka’s next release wasn’t a disappointment. Of course I didn’t expect it to be as good, and certainly it isn’t, but still, Kiseki has that similar mysterious feel to it. Oh wait, I know what this mysterious feel is… It’s that Kajiura-style, hah. So yeah, Yuuka sticks to her roots I guess, but you won’t find me complaining about that.

Mizuki Nana – Junketsu Paradox (BLOOD-C ED)
To be honest, I was tempted to put this in the meh section, but figured it’d be an insult to Nana’s vocals. While the 3 songs on the single are all fine, I feel nothing from them. I like Nana’s music for its originality, because she tries tackling different genres left and right. This? Well it’s good, but I’ve heard plenty of this “epic” sound from her already. But I’m judging this as a standalone single, and as such, it has all the right variables of the formula I’ve set. Great vocals, interesting instrumentals, fluent melody line. My brain says it’s good, yeah. Oh btw, I like 7COLORS the most here hah, though it sounds like PERFECT SMILE #2.

The meh:

Youmo to Ohana, Touyama Nao – Sekai wa Odoru yo, Kimi to. / Koko Kara Hajimaru Monogatari (Ikoku Meiro no Croisee OP/ED)
Touyama Nao sure is getting plenty of singing despite being quite a new face in seiyuu biz, and I’m not sure I get why. Regardless, the Opening here is what we’ll look at. Sweet ballad with soothing vocals, really befitting of the cozy atmosphere in the anime. Unfortunately, that’s not quite my cup of tea (I actually dropped the anime after the first episode) and the 2nd track on this single isn’t very helpful, so it remains a meh single that I’ll forget about soon enough.

Nanamori Chu Goraku Bu (Mikami Shiori, Otsubo Yuka, Tsuda Miwa, Okubo Rumi) – Yuriyurarararayuruyuri Daijiken (YuruYuri OP)
Crazy, catchy, and apparently that makes most stuff fine nowadays. Well, the 2 songs here really are fun, at least before you get the obligatory headache.

LAMA – Spell (NO.6 OP)
Synthetic ethereal music whoo. Definitely not the kind to appeal to most, but for a debut single this is a nice attempt at standing apart from the rest. In my case, I’d rather stick to Yakushimaru Etsuko for this kind of mysterious feel, but I’ll definitely be giving LAMA another listen if I come across them again.

Larval Stage Planning – Kimi+Nazo+Watashi de JUMP!! (Baka to Test to Shokanju Ni! OP)
Typical I’ve hyped music I guess, and I’ve always had a strange soft spot for those. This kind of electronic, auto-tuned, cheesy music can lift any sunken mood, but only the first few times. I don’t really see myself still listening to this by the end of the year unfortunately.

FictionJunction – stone cold (Sacred Seven OP)
I can’t help but laugh when I realize that Yuuka’s in the Good section while Kajiura/FJ is in the Meh section. Oh well, stone cold is the usual trancy, fast-paced, Kajiura style song with those nice epic vocals, but it’s just too damn long and repetitive. I always end up getting bored of it before I reach the end, and that really ticks me off. The c/w is just… boring.

Choucho – Kawaru Mirai (Kamisama no Memocho OP)
Fresh sounding and pleasant to the ears, but somewhat forgettable. I actually like the c/w, Sleeping Butterfly, better. Simple, pretty. Kawaru Mirai is a bit of a mixed bag.

The bad:

Aso Natsuko – Eureka Baby (Baka to Test to Shokanju Ni! ED)
Generic anison is generic. I’ve never been a fan of her work, with the slight exception of Programming for non-fiction, and this single did nothing to help there. While the tunes may be somewhat catchy, I really find nothing beyond average happy-go-lucky music here.

Tomatsu Haruka & Horie Yui – Kamisama to Issho (Nekogami Yaoyorozu OP)
Earplugs where?! Okay, so the horrible singing was expected. The song… BLOODY catchy. Now guess which kind of “bloody” I’m referring to.

Nanamori Chu Goraku Bu (Mikami Shiori, Otsubo Yuka, Tsuda Miwa, Okubo Rumi) – My Pace de Ikimashou (YuruYuri ED)
Unlike the opening where there’s actually something fun about the tune and the headache you’re bound to get isn’t immediate, the ending is just plain annoying. Like something hammering in your head constantly, guaranteeing a headache before the end of the song. The c/w, Precious Friends, had my hopes up for a few seconds, before I zzzzzz-ed.

IDOLING!!! – Don’t think. Feel!!! (Fairy Tail ED)
The thing about AKB48 is that they have so many non-idol songs in their stages that liking them doesn’t mean I’ve finally grown a tolerance for idol music. However, even as idol music, this kinda fails. The cuteness is there, but the catchiness… well, I’ve heard catchier to be honest. Ignoring the pointless versions of the same song plastered in here, the different songs themselves feel disturbingly similar. If there’s one thing to praise, it’s the main instrumental bridge in Alphabet de Kore Nanda!? but that’s about it.

R-15 – HIRAMEKI! Peace (R-15 ED)
Err… You might like this if you like your pointless, overly hyper, silly music. I don’t.

Harada Hitomi – Once (Itsuka Tenma no Kuro Usagi OP)
A case of someone trying too hard only to fall flat on their face. I get the feeling someone was trying to make an impression here, but I only remember dozing off at some point.

Holy shit that was long O_O Don’t expect this kinda of thing that often, that’s definitely not happening. So yeah, the usual claims apply. This is but my opinion, feel free to share yours if you want.

7 responses to “[Review] Some Recently Released Anison

  1. k1y0 August 7, 2011 at 1:32 am

    Feels dead to me. XD

    • rehikari August 7, 2011 at 1:48 am

      *sniff* but this is my attempt at reviving it ;_;

      • npal August 7, 2011 at 3:51 pm

        *patpat…

        Oh wait… O_O… ^-^’
        /runs

        On the other hand, I really liked fumika’s Aoi Tori (a Bleach ED), released in June and LINK IT ALL from Spyair’s latest single “Samurai Heart” (Gintama ED). Other than that, most anison this season were meh at best. Although technically, these were released in June, but whatever xP Everything else was crap xP I’m only looking forward to Tiger&Bunny’s 2nd ED and Beelzebub’s 3rd ED.

  2. desperatebenou August 8, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    I agree with Tomacchan x Hocchan duet. I expected the same kind of song as Yukarin x Hocchan’s Mousou Shoujo A (from Kämpfer für die Liebe) but it looks like.. nothing really good. So disappointed 😦

    • rehikari August 9, 2011 at 1:27 am

      lol I didn’t have any expectations for it (I never do when Tomatsu is involved XD) so I was safe :V It’s interesting that your brought up Mousou Shoujo A… that was indeed surprisingly decent 😮 (no, I didn’t have any hopes for Yamato Nadeshiko either…)

  3. desperatebenou August 27, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Really ? When I really love their songs (Koi no Tenshi Mai Orite, Mou hitori no watashi, Spring Spring Spring, Berry Very Good Love, etc). They are really good old songs. So I expected something really big and even if Mousou Shoujo A is a decent song, I expected it to be even more awesome. Anyway, “I never do when Tomatsu is involved XD” hahaha that is true ! I dislike motto hade ni so much… but I don’t know why, I love Tomacchan while she sings in Sphere…