Nanami's random introductory post

Hi there! So I’m supposed to write a proper introductory post, but since I have zero imagination for this kind of things, I guess I’ll just end up writing a few random things about me.

So… my nickname is kawaii-nanami, but call me Nanami, that’s what most people on the Internet do! I like many Japan-related things, but right now, my main obsession is J-pop. I’m not exaggerating when I say I spend all day listening to Japanese music. I also like anime and manga, but nowadays I don’t watch / read as much as I used to. I like drawing as well, but for some reason I haven’t drawn anything decent for ages. I’m planning to take it up again someday, though.

I’ve always liked to read reviews about my favorite J-pop releases, and sometimes, the idea of creating a blog to write my own reviews has crossed my mind, but as always, I’ve been too lazy to do it. However, I always liked to share my opinions about the music I listen to with other people, and that’s why when ReHikari asked me if I’d like to post in this blog and told me I could write about whatever I wanted, I immediately answered “YES!”. So expect from me mostly Japanese music reviews from time to time.

As far as my music taste goes, I can listen to almost every kind of Japanese artist, but I have a preference for female voices, especially the powerful and / or beautiful ones. My all-time favorite artist is Nana Mizuki and I just can’t describe with words how much I admire her <3. Even though I like almost every single thing she puts out (yes, I’m biased), I’m especially fond of her most recent material (from 2007 on), so comments like “How can you like her recent stuff? It sucks hard” just don’t work for me.

Other artists / groups I love include Rurutia (she was my first J-music love and my all-time favorite artist until Nana appeared in my life), Minori Chihara, Kana Nishino, AKB48 (and their sub-units, being no3b my favorite), Ayumi Hamasaki, Kalafina, Koda Kumi, alan, Ai Otsuka and Perfume, just to name a few. Lately, I’ve also been listening a lot to Sphere (guess who got me into them =3), and I’ve found myself enjoying their music much more than I expected I would when I first listened to them. I also like K-pop but I only listen to it from time to time.

And… what else? Oh, yes, I’m always willing to discover new artists / groups, so if you have any recommendations for me or just want me to review a certain single / album / song, feel free to ask me.

Oops.. this post ended up being much longer than I expected. Anyway, I hope you enjoy my future posts. See you!

P.S. Comments are always welcome =D

9 responses to “Nanami's random introductory post

  1. Charles October 21, 2010 at 3:43 am

    I’m looking forward to your reviews! Rurutia is also one of my favorites…I feel like her haunting voice can make even very mediocre songs sound so great.

  2. Yuki88 October 21, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Looking forward for the review. I like Kalafina, too :3

  3. npal October 21, 2010 at 9:53 am

    LOL, have fun. I still have 4 months to leave the army, I’ll pick up something here eventually. Hope she doesn’t whip you too much.

  4. Akiha October 21, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Yay~ I always wondered why you didn’t have a blog or something, I’m happy now ^^ Looking forward to your posts!

  5. Xj Shiya Yunohiro September 4, 2012 at 7:29 am

    I can’t believe I saw this blog just now! >_< I'm an avid Sphere fan and I hope that you can post a lot about them. Looking forward to your blogs! I wish it's not too late for me though.. :)))))

    • rehikari September 4, 2012 at 10:43 am

      Unfortunately, if you check the blog’s first page, you’ll see that this blog has been pretty much abandoned now u_u We don’t plan on blogging here at all anymore, sorry :<

      • xjshiya September 4, 2012 at 11:17 am

        AW!! That’s sad! >.< I was actually looking for a blog that posts about Sphere's updates but.. T_T Both Aki-san's and Minako-san's blog translations are also outdated right now so I don't know what to do. @_@ Do you know any site that can feed my hunger for any Sphere, Aki-san's or Minako-san's updates? Please tell me if you do.. Thank you for replying.. :)))

    • rehikari September 4, 2012 at 11:37 am

      I haven’t been following Sphere much lately, so I can’t really help there unfortunately. At best, I follow a couple of Sphere/Minako bots on twitter, though they tweet in Japanese. Right now I think that’s the best way of getting up-to-date info on Sphere and its members ^^;

      • xjshiya September 4, 2012 at 11:42 am

        Yeah.. I followed that too.. I also followed Aki-san’s twitter, though she hasn’t really update it since. Does Minako-san has her twitter as well? *deep sigh* Is there anyway to still keep this blog? Oh well, that probably will just be my wishful thinking forever.. LOL! @_@ If anything comes up, just email me, if you have any time that is. Thank you so much for caring to reply to such a person like me. I appreciate it a WHOLE lot! :))))