[GHOST OF YESTERDAY] 2006 Movie Starring KOTOBUKI MINAKO

Note: I’ve added a download link (torrent) for the movie at the bottom of the post. Scroll down to see why I actually bothered.

Erm, yeah, a bit of a serious-sounding title there ’cause I couldn’t come up with anything else, so let me warn you. The following is in no way a serious review of any sort. I’d say it’s more like a Minachan fapfest instead =D

First of all, a summary of the movie’s events, copy/pasted from the PFF award site (yes, this movie has won an award 😄 If it weren’t for that, we wouldn’t have even gotten this 1 week DVD thing in the first place =x) because I can’t bother with writing one.

When a sick mother mistakes her son’s boss, a secondhand shop owner, for her deceased husband, her daughter asks her brother and his boss to pretend to be a family for her sake. But her brother cannot give in to her and…

No idea why the summery on the site ends abruptly like that (in case you haven’t checked it, yes the site is in English) but I suppose that’s good enough because anything beyond that would pretty much be considered a spoiler.

14sai Minachan's first (proper) appearance!

TBH I didn’t pay that much attention while taking screencaps of the movie (seriously, 2 frikkin’ hours long!) but when I opened the first one (i.e. the one above) and saw evil eye from the get go… I knew this was my Minachan after all ❤

Taking nutcase Okaasan to the hospital ^^

Yep, movie starts off just like that, right straight to the case. I like it better this way really. Can’t stand long movie/series intros. Do we really need to know how that Dad died for example? Or how the kids first dealt with it? Or how long it took for the Mom to break down? Of course not.

Ayako (Minachan's character) offers what little money she has ❤

As the summery says, it’s the daughter’s idea to ask this old dude to pretend being their father, so that scene above is from when she’s asking him about the whole thing.

Evil eye once again =D

OMG so cute /o\ And lol pointy tooth reminds me of Aki 😄

Back at the hospital, this is where the old dude starts pretending to be Otousan. Ayako is happy to see that all is going according to keikaku :p

Oniichan isn't happy about the whole thing. Ayako doesn't care =D

Evil eye again? Yes, again o/

*sigh* Hopeless Oniichan. Cute >//////<

I just noticed that you can’t really see the brother in those last 2 caps. Well, he’s there, in front of her, washing his face IIRC. Really 😄

Fake happy family! Why the hell is Mina eating with her right hand? o.O

Kanpai!! I want to kanpai with Minachan too ;_;

Fake happy scene is over… What follows really got on my nerves -_-;

Hands off my Minachan ヽ(`Д´)ノ

Wha- (╬ ಠ益ಠ)

Evil look is totally justified here (≧ロ≦)

Ya really, WTF Oniichan D= Later on we learn that he does have a violent vein in him apparently… Eff you, no one touches my Minachan like that D=< *has totally forgotten that it’s just a movie*

Sweet Ayako giving Okaasan her medicine =3

Totally caught me off guard... Minachan playing the piano! Should've zoomed in or something though >_>;

My favorite thing in the movie (not counting Minachan duh) is the turtle's name, "Kamisama" lol

From here on out I’ll refrain from adding more commentary than is needed ’cause I don’t want to spoil too much (although be warned that there will be spoilers, sort of) so I’ll just let the screen caps do the talking I guess.

Movie takes a sudden hamsap turn... My face literally went O_O

(((( ;゚Д゚)))

Minachan, all those shots of you standing behind Oniichan with that look are a bit disturbing ^^;

LET THE DRAMA BEGIN \o/ Minako, your acting sucks(・∀・)

What did I say about those hands... \|  ̄ヘ ̄|/_______θ☆( *o*)/

The resolution of the whole conflict happens with pretty much no Minachan interaction, hence I’m skipping to the final scene already =D

Ayako gets told to wait... Wish I could keep her company (`・ω・´)

ARGH SO FRIKKIN' CUTE >.<

d(*⌒▽⌒*)b

That dimple ヽ(´▽`)/

I really want to slap those hands away...

Shiny forehead +_+

…And it’s over ^^ I have no idea how much those screen caps spoil or if anyone even cares about that ’cause, well, it’s not like the movie is that plot-heavy or anything really 😄 Mind you, it was a very decent watch and I can easily see why it won a “best concept” award =) Of course, it reeked of “indie” from a whole mile away though, but hey, who said indie can’t be good too? At least we got hear Minachan speaking properly in Kansai-ben thanks to that =D

So basically, if you’re a Minako fan, then this is pretty much a must for you! If you’re into odd Japanese movies in general, then I also recommend this. Bare in mind though that the torrent I’ve provided is just a direct .VOB rip of the movie, hence no subtitles or anything. You’re gonna need at least a decent level of Japanese understanding to be able to get something out of it, especially taking into consideration that it’s not even in common Japanese, but in another accent that might make it even harder to understand. It’s also obviously extremely dialogue-heavy because, well, it just has to be. No awesome special effects or anything of the sort after all :p

The only reason I actually bothered sharing this thing is because it wasn’t exactly easy getting my hands on it, and I understand the feeling of wanting to watch it really badly (for us Minatards y’know). Also, getting around the whole security crap they placed on the DVD because of the 1 week thing was a pain in the butt, and I’d rather no one have to go through that pointless ordeal again ^^;

Anyway, enough blabbing from my part. Link to the movie torrent here~

34 responses to “[GHOST OF YESTERDAY] 2006 Movie Starring KOTOBUKI MINAKO

  1. yq October 17, 2010 at 12:14 am

    OMFG TYVM. Not a sphere fan… but give me minachan and kansai-ben and 3.1GB d/l looks like nothing… 😛

  2. Matteas October 25, 2010 at 2:33 am

    Finally got round to watching it. Minachan’s evil looks were great!

    Right, I hardly understood all of it, but I got the necessary gist of it. Or you could say I understood Minachan, brother, and mother, but understanding that makeshift father was quite a challenge 😄 Mind you I’m not saying I don’t like Kansai-ben. Much to the contrary. The film was very interesting and I think I might rewatch it one day when I’ll be able to understand more to that makeshift father.

    Is it just me or do you also find it unnatural for Minachan to be an imouto? She’s more of a strict onee-san, I would say. Though, she did act like a strict imouto in here 😄

    • ReHikari October 25, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      Your comment really makes me wish I had the time and patience to actually sub the movie, but alas, I don’t see that happening any time soon D=

      I do recommend rewatching it once you find yourself grasping the language better, since that makeshift father is a rather interesting character =3 Should also be a good way of testing just how much you’ve imrpoved ;p (I usually do that. Watch something, then like a year later, watch again and see how much more I understand of it…)

      As for the imouto thing… I’m gonna have to agree with you there, yeah 😄 Which is funny taking into consideration that she IS an imouto in real life lol I’d like to see a picture of Mina’s brother some day… I bet she looks older than him *runs*

  3. Rawwwwwrrrrrrrrr October 28, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Did that brother of her raped her?

    RAWRRRRR i want to kill him!!

  4. Rawwwwwrrrrrrrrr October 29, 2010 at 1:01 am

    Movie takes a sudden hamsap turn… My face literally went O_O

    (((( ;゚Д゚)))

    This 2 part? its so distrubing

    LOL!!

    Long live minatards!!

  5. Nothing January 22, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    pls tell me what is happening about the pic after the car pic………….

  6. Low January 23, 2011 at 4:57 am

    please reseed

    • ReHikari January 23, 2011 at 10:11 am

      I actually have the torrent seeding constantly 😮 But my connection is a bit limited so you’ll have to bare with me ;_; I’ll see if I can get some help with seeding, patience please ^^

  7. Low January 24, 2011 at 3:39 am

    thx. i just want to make sure there is only one tracker for the torrent.

  8. Nothing January 31, 2011 at 11:24 am

    i’m downloading this movie by the link u given…i viewed it while downloading…it have chinese subtitles?it this right?

  9. Nothing January 31, 2011 at 11:27 am

    why i see Hong Kong artist (food show) in this movie??its in the middle and last of it??!!

  10. Nothing January 31, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    yup,i got da right link,3.14gb

    • ReHikari January 31, 2011 at 7:05 pm

      I have no idea what’s the deal with the Chinese then ._.; How is your download doing? I think the best would be to just wait for it to finish ^^;

  11. Low February 1, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    I got it but the audio didn’t work so i just muxed it

  12. Low February 1, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    thx again. sorry fir the double post

  13. Nothing February 4, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    i have finish the downlaod and watched it…tat is no problem after me fully downlaod it……..

    u are right~why Minako is eating with her right hand…Minako is left handed!! she is cool because she can use chopstick with her right hand…why i cant hold my chopstick with me right hand too?

  14. eduardo August 17, 2011 at 12:46 am

    the movie has translations

    • rehikari August 17, 2011 at 12:51 am

      Is that a statement or a question?

      If it’s a statement then… do you know where?

      And if it’s a question then… no, there aren’t any translations for the movie (that I’m aware of at least).

  15. lain September 30, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    Could you reseed this torrent?

    just a small token of appreciation (some videos Minako appeared on)
    http://www.fileserve.com/file/ewQfCAM/Minako.rar