Summer Season – First Impressions – Pile One

Aa-chan's cute ^^

Aa-chan's cute ^^

[Post contains multiple series episode 1 spoilers, this is not a drill]

Yeah, I had loads of Aoi-Hana screencaps so I thought I’d pick one from them.  No, that’s not my impression of the season so far, I just wanted a nice pic to begin :p Yeah, I know her look isn’t exactly screaming happiness, excitement, amazement and wonder, but I thought it’s one of the best Aa-chan images I have.  A number of stuff are coming out this season and I’m waiting for some more to check.  I’m generally rather pleased so far, so I suppose it feels like a good season for me.

lol, yuri :p

lol, yuri :p

Aoi Hana happens to be first on my list.  I knew it’s supposed to be a yuri series but I thought, what the hell, might as well give it a try.  Needless to say the yuri is there alright.  I mean, besides the yuri OP (which is drool material, the girls are hot, no?), the thing is basically swimming in “serious” yuri.  Serious as in it’s really there, I don’t need to make it up, emphanize or distort.  You get strange glances or obvious love glances between at least 2-3 pairs of girls (Fumi is involved in two of them after all), then you even get a siscon and a train molester (yup, that’s right, but Aa-chan sent him to hell so maybe I should’ve crossed him out instead?), and the mandatory (for serious yuri anime) all-female schools… The last part is too cliche to not point out.  I suppose the same happens with yaoi anime (?).  Not sure why they do that, must be an unwritten homosexual fetish or something, cause I can’t explain it otherwise.  Oh, and since Queen’s Blade ushered anime into a new fetish era, we also get peeing, although it’s for normal reasons here, can happen to anyone and all that stuff.  So anyway, I didn’t particularly care about the OP/ED songs on the first listen and I didn’t bother to check them again.  They weren’t bad as I recall, just not special enough.  The artwork and the designs were nice, they felt old sometimes but I suppose they’re trying to keep the manga designs’ feel so no real complains there cause the girls are cute.  The only thing that’s a bit of a turn-off is that this thing might turn a bit too serious for my taste.  I’m kinda against swapping emo-polygons and all that betrayal stuff (I’m still trying to forget I watched School Days) so hopefully it won’t go into my no-watch area, although the presence of the train molester is not a good sign.

Oh and Aa-chan rules.  Fumi’s ok I guess, although incredibly emo.

Blog this? Not sure.  I mean it SEEMS fun enough and the two main girls are cute enough (Aa-chan rules anyway) so I guess I’ll wait for the second episode before I decide on this.

Photo fetish girl?

Photo fetish girl?

Since I heard a number of this about it, I thought I’d try Canaan.  Well… Is it me or did it feel like another Typemoon generic adaptation?  You have many cute girls, at least one of which is plain weird (and hot, too, I might add, then again I might be somewhat of a mazoschist, I know), then you have the generic obvious Typemoon main girl, Canaan, with the trademark eyes and the trademark glowing eyes ability that goes with them.  Reminds me of Shiki, only lamer.  If  we don’t count the generic stuff, the premise seems interesting enough.  You have some people getting killed, then you have some hikkikomori-like people wearing full head cat masks (reminds me of Shangri-la’s loli Karin, but loli Ishida Karin has a full-body pedobear suit) that go berserk if you take their masks off and die in a horrible way, some sort of military people going around for God know what as well as some other neko-mask armed people going around a Chinese festival, whose purpose is unknown other than trying to silence this camerawoman cutie for witnessing a hikkikomori-like person die.  Apart from Canaan’s trademark Typemoon design, which is getting boring the more I see it in all Typemoon adaptations, the rest of the character designs are nice, the animation is fluid enough, the rest of the artwork is detailed enough and the best thing the first episode did is picture a chinese festival in all its color and vibrancy.

Blog this? Nah.  Seems interesting enough but it doesn’t feel funny enough and, despite all the cuties there, I doubt I’d be that interested to blog it.  So I’ll just watch this.

The protagonists.  Don't worry, the shot gets what he deserves for being too lame.

The protagonists. Don't worry, the shota gets what he deserves for being too lame.

See the awesome GAR guy and the uber cute/sexy bike girl pwning a totally lame shota? This is Needless.  No, the shota beating isn’t needless, the title is.  I mean, the title isn’t needless, it’s Needless… Whatever, you got the point.

I had no previous experience with this or heard anything about it.  I just picked it because I pick many anime each season (the ones I feel might be interesting enough based on a screenshot really, or a preview at best).  So what the hell is this?  Basically World War 3 ended quite some time ago, there’s this devastated area in the middle of Tokyo called Black Spot, there are some people with supernatural abilities laying waste to some sort of resistance groups, then we get the lame shota and the hotness that is his sister running from a thing called Testament, which is basically a cross between a Star Wars battle droid and some other generic droid.  His sister (who has a supernatural ability) got wasted by the friggin droid (boooo >_< ), shota kept running, GAR person above wearing crosses and all that priest stuff found him, owned the droid by the use of a grenade stored in his Bible, got owned in the process so lame shota had to carry him to Dr. Willy’s base (a ruined church or something), then Eve (*drool*) appears on her bike, kicks the shota, gets kicked by GAR guy called Blade, fastforward, the bad guys want Blade dead, bad guys hunt down Needless people (no, not that, Needless are supposed to be the one with supernatural abilities or something), bad guys sent idiot to get them, idiot bad guy gets owned by Eve’s Doppleganger ability (changes to whatever she wants of identical mass) and Blade’s Megaman Zero Mimic ability (mimics enemy attacks), the end.

GAR Megaman Blade was epic, Eve is hot, poor supposedly dead C.C. lookalike sister is hot, Cruz shota is lame, Dr Willy is Dr Willy, etc etc.  Generally, it’s all fun.  There’s slapstick comedy all over the place, blended together with all sorts of shounen stuff like named moves and battle twists.  I don’t think I can go wrong with this thing.  It feels like a bit of everything.  The designs are nice, a bit exaggerated at times, and the animation seems ok enough from what I recall.  Oh, and let’s not forget the epic seemingly unrelated shameless straight yuri ED sequence.

Blog this? I’m pretty sold.

Boobies! Yum! Cousin boobies! Hmm... oh well, who cares, she's not MY cousin so yay for boobies!

Boobies! Yum! Cousin boobies! Hmm... oh well, who cares, she's not MY cousin so yay for boobies!

One picture’s worth a thousand words.  Although I only got a few for this one.  Cute girl+boobies+blush+slight tsundere = moe win+lots of babies.  Then again, this is Umineko no Naku koro ni.  Judging by its cicada predecessor, it’s supposed to have moe and innuendo before the hack’n’slash starts.  I always have a problem with the titles.  Cicadas crying sounds ridiculous enough but “Seagulls” sounds just as ridiculous.  Leaving the title aside, we have way too many characters in this one.  We have one loli, one young girl (see image), we got young women, we got young moms, so, as far as girls are considered, we’re covered.  We also have too many guys, making this a bit of a big cast, not to mention the young maids and the other servants.  If I didn’t know this was supposed to be a mystery series, it has all the markings of being an S&M hentai.  You get the mentioned girls above in some quantity, a big yakuza family meeting in a remote private island with your mandatory rich-man’s mansion (gardens and all that stuff).  Yeah, I could see the seagulls procreating here like there’s no tomorrow but whatever.  The main issue here is the yakuza heirs trying to distribute father’s fortune among themselves (father’s still alive and kicking though), then there’s this story of a witch called Beatrice, who supposedly helped Gozaburo/Takatori some-other-yakuza-name-I-dont-remember to make a fortune after the family lost most of it at some point.  There’s also father’s supposed hidden cache of gold related to Beatrice again.  Father himself seems on the brink of insanity, calling Beatrice down and whatnot.  In short, the series hasn’t started yet, it’s just the pawns being brought together.  Other than that, there’s also bitch-slapping (sorta, just verbal assault anyway) and loli beating.  Beating up lolis is a crime against the universe and will invoke divine retribution, especially when said loli believes in Beatrice and hands out protection charms to the cute couple above.  The OP/ED felt like standard Higurashi stuff, although the difference is obvious.  The designs are nice, obviously different from Higurashi but they do feel weird enough to make you feel they’re related.

Blog this? Not sure.  If it’s got more boobs, it’d be nice but the loli beating isn’t nice and in general a mystery series can only get more serious so I kinda doubt it.  Plus, damn, too many character names are too many.

Yay, more moe!

Yay, more moe!

And here’s the last one for the time being (until more subs get released or until I watch the stuff that are already released), your usual, cliche, redundant but always adorable comedy/moe series for the summer,  Yoku Wakaru Gendai Mahou, or Mahou Shoujo Pan for short, that’s what it’s about anyway.  The girl with the cyan hair, that’s our girl, the one who turns every magic spell into a summoning pan spell, you know, the type where pans drop from the sky and gravitate towards someone’s head.  Then, there’s the girl sitting next to her, who’s basically her colleague, then the black-hair girl, who’s supposed to be her supervisor, and the light pink haired girl, who took it upon herself to train her out of her pan summoning spells.  Yes, it’s the cute and tiny size side and the woot!boobs! size side.  Oh, and there’s a lucky poor guy with them who’s trying in vain to do some damage control.  We get cosplay and onsen from episode 1, that’s a sure sign of abundant fanservice to follow.  We also get some major destruction and an infinite number of summoned pans, and the comedy to go with all the above.  That’s it.

All in all,  it’s cliche.  It’s obviously made for moe and fanservice, and it’s gonna coat these with comedy.  However, moe is cliche anyway but as long as you know what you’re watching, you’re gonna have fun with this thing.  It’s a total moe brainkiller, so, if you want to have some fun without thinking about it, this one’s gonna do it.  People like me who love moe don’t get tired of moe so yay for some uber moe.  I wonder about the yuri prospect of this series… I can see it going many ways.

You weren’t expecting great animation and all that stuff from a seasonal moe series, right?  Well, it’s good where it has to, and that’s when giving out drool material, so no gripes there.  I honestly don’t even recall the OP/ED, if there were any.  What I do remember though is that the raws used were absolutely appaling, but apparently it was a webfeed and the quality will get better once it’s broadcast on normal TV.

Blog this: Almost certain.  I mean, I blogged K-ON and the premises in this one are not much different, just more shamelessly moe, which is actually a better position, considering how Kyoani try (and succeed) in fooling people into believing that anything they do is high art even when it’s copy-paste-to-infinity (for lulz, visit many blogs and anime fora).

Phew, it’s over.  Hopefully, the other series will be coming out soon enough (not that I don’t already have enough piled up series to catch up but whatever).  Besides Canaan (not that Canaan isn’t good enough for watching), all of the above are either nice enough to pick them for blogging or at least consider them.  That’s not that good, considering there are at least 2 series I want to blog and if I pick 1-2 more, it’s gonna be hell and there’s some RL stuff that just can’t wait, so I’m not sure.  I’ll probably end up doing 3 series tops, unless I somehow get more time.

Anyway, that’s it for today.  Since the Aoi Hana episode 1 screens will go to waste, here’s more Aa-chan cuteness.

Aa-chan is teh love

Aa-chan is teh love

2 responses to “Summer Season – First Impressions – Pile One

  1. cavalierr July 7, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Wow Cool !!

  2. Pingback: Summer Season – More mini first episode reviews (aka Pile Two 1st impressions) « Hikari to Kage