Haruhi S2 ep 4 – Ep 2 ver. 15499 – Ep 3 ver. 2 – When something fails and it's not the viewer

Is this gonna drag more?

Is this gonna drag more?

OK, seriously, have you read my Haruhi season 2 episode 3 review?  Have you watched EITHER episode 2 or episode 3? Then you really don’t need to watch this one, except for the extra moe.  I could see how episode 3 MIGHT have been needed (although a good storyteller could easily avoid the repetition), but episode 4 is just going overboard.  I’m not sure who to blame for this one… KyoAni for following the novel a bit TOO close and proving once again their storytelling skills are as good (or as bad) as the source material or blame the novel?  I will give the novel the benefit of the doubt, cause books have ways to repeat the same thing without obvious copy-paste, and just blame Kyoani.  Sure the novel isn’t a classic masterpiece but I shudder to think that ANY writer would pull a repeat in a book twice in basically the same way, so while I have my doubts about the quality of the novels, I don’t believe it’s the novel’s fault, although the facts aren’t speaking in its defense one bit yup, I read the related chapter, it’s clearly not the novel’s fault, it’s Kyoani deviating from the source, and messing up as always.

Of course, Kyoani did their best in making it appear like new material and basically targeted at supplying the same moe under a different wrapping.  Well, true, the moe is there, different clothes, different takes, it LOOKS like a new episode for all intents and purposes, save ONE…  THE DAMN PLOT!  ALMOST ALL THE DIALOGUE!  If they wanted me to have some serious deja vu, they failed, cause instead of deja vu, I feel like Yuki.  If they wanted me to feel like Yuki, congratulations, I’m every bit as annoyed as her, probably more since Yuki isn’t really the passionate type and she possibly feels more bored than frustrated.  Watching the same thing 3 times under different takes, an act which has no real meaning other than making you pull your hair out as it doesn’t supply any new information or advance the stalled plot in any way isn’t really my idea of good storytelling.  We can accept that the plot was normally stalled in episode 3, although, as I said, they could easily have erased episode 2 and blend it with episode 3 by the use of flashbacks/still shots/etc etc.  All in all, we’ve seen 3 episodes, out of which we needed just ONE good episode.  Two episodes  were bearable, three+ is overkill.  The overall idea of being locked in time and repeating is ok and all, and it’s bound to get resolved eventually, but the anime storytelling is now bordering on ridiculous.

Anyway, if you managed to survive the above rant, plus the episodes themselves, here’s the post’s gallery for the fun of it.  You got to take the bad with the good and, at the very least, the thing was still moe despite being utterly pathetic in essence.

And there you have it.  The thing I fear that may actually happen is having the next episode being yet ANOTHER repeat, maybe until around the end where Kyon has some sort of revelation and finally gets what Haruhi wants to do or something.  All in all, they might as well wrap the thing up and move on, cause in the end, unfortunate though that is, this episode just made the whole arc fail.  I suppose I got some more HaruhixMikuru footage and Haruhi was being nice to her, so I shouldn’t be too distraught, but I can’t but feel I’ve wasted around 30 minutes watching the episode, taking screenshots, and possibly another hour or so actually reviewing the thing.   From a moe perspective it’s as good as ever, but even moe series can’t be THAT blatantly repetitive.  For those that were actually blaming K-ON’s episode 10 for being pure repeat, you can have fun will all these identical Haruhi episodes. I doubt I’ve seen more of a straight and totally unnecessary repeat than these three.  K-ON’s supposed repeat was way better, which is insane thinking about it, because Haruhi is supposed to be a moe series with a better plot than K-ON, so it SHOULD have been better, not worse.

Someone should REALLY get his act together and make a decent episode again…

PS I kinda forgot to mention it but WTH is wrong with the raws? All fansubs I download have absolutely horrible image quality…

4 responses to “Haruhi S2 ep 4 – Ep 2 ver. 15499 – Ep 3 ver. 2 – When something fails and it's not the viewer

  1. Re-Hikari July 4, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    You know… Something tells me we’ll be seeing this 8 times? It’s called endless eight after all… So yeah, 5 more of the same to go? I dread the fact that I’ll actually have to marathon them since I most likely won’t be able to download anything for 40 days starting Thursday… *shudders*

    Lets hope I’m wrong and that they’ll wrap it up next episode -_-;

    • npal July 4, 2009 at 4:24 pm

      Well, It’s a known fact now that I’ve actually taken a look at the actually chapter that Kyoani basically killed the novel. The novel basically has the resolution episode and nothing more. I could accept episode 2 OR episode 3 existing and have just one repeat with the resolution, but really 4 episodes is retarded. I can’t for the life of me comprehend how people actually like this repeat. There are even some who call it art >_> Oh well…

      • Shounen A July 9, 2009 at 3:42 am

        I actually liked the first two iterations, the first setting up the repeating feeling and the second showing how even figuring out time is repeating didn’t solve things, but yes, this latest iteration is just too redundant. The anime is dragging it far too long considering how trivial the solution turns out to be …

  2. Pingback: Haruhi S2 ep 5 – Fanservice, lulz and fail, that’s all there is in the end. « Hikari to Kage