What voices can do…

~No top image this time around ’cause I got scarred when I saw this while searching for one…~

With summer bringing the usual summer boredom, I find myself watching random, pointless videos all the time when I should really be trying to write something for my fanfic instead… But one video in particular caught my attention. The opening for the PC visual novel 11eyes -Tsumi to Batsu to Aganai no Shoujo-. I’ve actually had the video for ages, so I’m surprised I hadn’t noticed the thing that’s been eating away at my mind lately even sooner.

What I’m talking about here is that little thing people have gone noticing from this year’s Animelo theme song. Y’know, the fact that Ayane can sound so much like Mizuki Nana =x While I myself got a little hint of that kinda sooner from Ayane’s GRAVITY ERROR single, and somewhat from the Ayakashi OP single, cloudier sky (but I couldn’t get to trust myself on that one… I figured it could have been just me mishearing ’cause I was anticipating Nana’s voice in the anime itself or something), RE:BRIDGE only managed to reinforce my suspicion.

Ayane is the second one singing, right after Kuribayashi Minami (You can check this post for a full list of vocal appearances)

Now, the funny thing is, I’ve watched the 11eyes OP even before listening to GRAVITY ERROR, but I hadn’t noticed the voice similarities at the time (probably because there’s a long part where Ayane’s voice is just synthesized >.<). However, when I came across it again today, I couldn’t help but notice the similarities this time… What do you say to that? Now I can’t help but wonder if I’m just imagening the voice similarities sometimes… There’s no denying them when it comes to the Animelo song, but in the other cases…

Anyway, so that lead to my curiousity getting picked, and I went looking for more Ayane stuff, and of course, comparisons had to rise. First off, its not THE voices that sound similar, but just the way in which they both hit a particular note. For example, I mostly get reminded of Nana’s voice when Ayane starts a line with a low note, but by the end of the line, when the notes start getting higher, her voice becomes something that has nothing to do with Nana’s. They also have a certain thing in common, but I don’t know the technical word for it in English… Something along the lines of a particular sound their voice does… Anyway, it doesn’t matter. Putting the voices aside…

Since there’s been this whole discussion going on about Nana breaking into mainstream and needing to improve her dancing for that to work properly, I couldn’t help but notice that, while Ayane’s voice is nowhere near as awesome as  Nana’s (despite the similarities XD) and while she obviously can’t hit her notes as well, she’s a much better dancer T_T The issue here is, she’s still nothing great, but she’s better, so what does that make Nana’s dancing XD? Maybe it really is 3rd grade-like… I mean, kids these days aren’t the same after all =/ (gawsh that made me sound old… I’m freshly 18 y’hear!!)

Moving on… There’s also the fact that they both have quite a bunch of different-sounding songs in their discography. Obviously, with how much bigger Nana’s discography is PLUS her weirdness when picking her songs, Ayane’s songs aren’t nearly as varied as Nana’s songs are, but given time, who knows (I seriously doubt she’ll manage to pull out a MARIA&JOKER though lol). Also, as plainly obvious in that video above, they both like to wink apparently ;p And since I mention the video, don’t you think the choreography in it is a bit similar to DISCOTHEQUE’s? But I believe this came first? Hmm =x

thoughtful-nana

Anyway, so what’s the point of this post? Nothing really. Me being the Nanatard that I am, I’ll obviously just be seeing Ayane as a lame copy (but don’t worry, deep down I know she’s not :p). However, all these similarities did get me interested. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye on her now, and if she manages to rise the level of her songs just a bit more (’cause right now they’re decent at best, with a couple standing out from the rest, so hopefully she’ll manage to get better music soon enough) then my wallet might be finding itself another challenger~

P.S. Lets not forget that they’re both berry berry cute =3 But hands down, Nana-chan still wins here too!

11 responses to “What voices can do…

  1. Pingback: [Animelo 2009] The prespective of the person who wasn’t there… Day1 « Hikari to Kage

  2. jonski March 10, 2010 at 11:53 am

    i think that one “certain thing they have in common” about their voice (and i might be wrong if it’s not what you’re thinking of) is called “reverb”–where their voices waver at the end of long notes, like ayu does so annoyingly but ayane n nana do much better.

    if that’s not it though, then woops. =p i really do hope ayane kicks up her musical output though, 2 singles a year is brutal. ;_;

    • Re-Hikari March 10, 2010 at 12:15 pm

      YES! That’s the word I was looking for XD Reverberation! I kept thinking of it in Lebanese (my own language) but for some reason it just wouldn’t come to mind in English >_<

      Ah well, the fact that Ayane got picked for Anisama again this year should be a good indication. With some luck she'll start getting a bit more popular (Anisama exposure FTW :p) and might start releasing more stuff~ But let's see how well Angelic bright sells first ^^;

      • jonski March 10, 2010 at 12:48 pm

        after seeing Arrival of Tears make it on the oricon, there’s at least hope. of course all her “tears” songs would’ve made it had they also had MVs, imo. aren’t she and nana around the same age? ayane’s kinda late to the party if she’s going to start pushing herself. she was with konami for awhile doing DDR n beatmania songs…

    • Re-Hikari March 10, 2010 at 1:07 pm

      Aha, I just checked Oricon right now. Angelic bright managed to rank 22nd XD Which I suppose is good for a DS game theme song that doesn’t even have a PV ^^; I’m actually not sure about Ayane’s age (I tried looking it up before, but I couldn’t find it anywhere >_>;) but yeah, I’d say she is around Nana’s age (give or take a couple of years). It’s a pity that she wasted so much time on beatmania stuffs, but there’s still hope!! Of course, I don’t expect her to get to Nana’s popularity, but I do hope to see her in the top 10 some day XD

  3. jonski March 10, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    so lazy with the pv’s, haha. first thing she needs to do is switch labels. idk anybody else on 5pb except asriel, and i’d like to hear more from them too. then she needs to make an epic rock album where every song is “–Tears”.

    okay, the last part was my own personal pipe dream. XD but labels, definitely. that she proved my theory wrong about needing a pv to chart is proof that arrival of tears scored major points and she’s officially almost-relevant. =D 2 straight weeks or a top 20 ranking and she’ll HAVE to announce a new album, right???

    • Re-Hikari March 10, 2010 at 1:46 pm

      Hmm… Album… Well, it hasn’t been a year yet since the release of Hyper Moe Trance II (not that it really counts as an original album, but it’s still a somewhat “major” release), so I don’t know. If I were her management, I would try releasing an album slightly after Anisama 2010. I’d make sure she leaves a good impression there (cute MC always helps lol) and hope the Anisama goers can do some mouth-to-mouth advertising for her. It’s a cheap way, but it’s effective :p

      I’ll have to agree on 5pb being the problem here. Even their most popular singers (like Yuinyan) don’t sell all that well, mainly because they concentrate on the game region of the anison industry rather than going for actual TV anime songs. Of course, there’s also the difference that Yuinyan CAN’T sing, Ayane can :p What we need now is for Ayane to graduate from the Higurashi game songs, and move onto either proper games or somewhat decent anime songs. And of course, the PVs are important lol

      It’s a pity that we can’t do much here >_< Our only option is to support her through buying her releases T_T

  4. jonski March 11, 2010 at 4:02 am

    idk if you’ve seen this but i thought you’d appreciate it if you haven’t: ayane dancing when she was still Junko Hirata with konami. gotta remember, if you’re gonna work with bemani, you need to dance first sing later. >.>

    • Re-Hikari March 11, 2010 at 1:02 pm

      Ooooooh, nope, haven’t seen that before 😮 I usually have enough on my hands searching for old Nana videos, so I don’t usually bother with other stuffs XD But that was fun =3 Hehe, I knew Ayane could dance XD Thanks for the vid ;p I think I’ll go look for some other videos now~

      • jonski March 11, 2010 at 7:39 pm

        yea kinda makes me wonder what the heck she was doing at animelo…the only good parts of her performance were her outfit and her guitarist. ;_;

        and goodness i’m trying so hard to find nana’s performance of etsuraku camellia from animelo, can’t find it though and i’m afraid of buying stuff on the internet until i get my laptop next week, so no blu-ray of the concert yet. youtube has a live from some other time, but i want animelo!!!

      • Re-Hikari March 11, 2010 at 7:51 pm

        I don’t think it’s on youtube. But you can always get it from niconico douga:

        http://www.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm9984211

        Or just download the Anisama torrent :p There are several out there already XD I’m currently jobless so I won’t be getting the BD anytime soon either T_T