Higurashi delivers yet another WIN opening~

*guru*guru*

*guru*guru*

Uwaa~h, I don’t even remember the last time I had to wait this much for an anisong single 😄 It’s finally out! Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Rei (OVA) OP Single =3 Just for the record, I’ve loved ALL the Higurashi openings so far, be it the first season’s (Higurashi no Naku Koro ni) or second season’s (Naraku no Hana) or the live action movie’s (Chikai), although I hated the movie itself lol My favorite song is by far the first one though :p

Anyway, eh, yeah, despite that, I’m actually not much of a Shimamiya Eiko fan. I haven’t liked any of the B-side songs on the Higurashi singles, and Rei’s is no exception apparently >_> I’ll admit that “electric universe” does have some decent instrumental bridges in it though, but that’s not enough to make me listen to it again, so moving on from that.

I had really high expectations for Super scription of data… and OMG my expectations weren’t betrayed!! Someone out there must’ve had enough fun crushing my expectations apparently @.@ So yeah, if anything, it even exceeded them :p Not by much, but I did like the piano-centered instrumental bridge that wasn’t in the tv version, and that came out of the blue, so it was nice ^^

I know many people liked the first opening but not the second, so I’ll say this one is closer in style to the first one, no worries :p Actually, it’s kind of a mix between the two, but the instrumental sounds just remind me of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni a lot more than of Naraku no Hana =/ So, uhh, just give it a listen ^^ It’s purely recommended =3

Pity there’s no PV for this one, so I’ll just embed the OP sequence as is~

P.S. Shinkyoku Soukai Polyphonica crimson S Character Song CDs are out, and for those unaware, Mizuki Nana has a role in it. So yes, we got a Nana character song out of blue here :p The name, Ribbon no Onpu, kinda gave me “Sunao Princess” vibes (y’know, her Tsuyokiss chara song… She plays the main heroine, Konoe Sunao there :p) but this is nowhere near as nice as that one T_T That’s why I’m not bothering with a post for it and am just mentioning it here. It’s okay though, we’ve just had a huge Nana-songs income with Ultimate Diamond recently, so one bleh chara song that I wasn’t even expecting doesn’t matter XP

P.P.S. Since Tomatsu Haruka’s singing is apparently popular, I’ll drop the notice that she plays the main female role in Polyphonica, so yes, she got her own chara song too :p No comment on that since I haven’t listened to it, and am not planning to either =x

One response to “Higurashi delivers yet another WIN opening~

  1. npal June 24, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Tomatsu Haruka owns everything in Polyphonica :p For the record, she sings the Polyphonica S ED.

    I only like the S1 Higurashi OP/ED. The others were ok I suppose. I THINK the OVA ones are better than S2’s but I don’t recall the ED now, so I’m at 50% sure :p

    And you should go watch Polyphonica you know :p