Tomita Maho x Austin Powers o.O?

She's just missing the fugly cat XP

She's just missing the fugly cat XP

I just had a listen to Tomita Maho’s new single, Crimson Star. Before I talk about the actual songs, I wanna mention something kinda lol I found in the song’s PV…

Who doesn’t know of history’s most annoying Secret Agent :p? And his handsome brother? Apparently, Tomita Maho knows them quite well, maybe I could even say she’s a fan of the awesome Dr. Evil? Or she wants to be like him o.O? If it’s the latter, then we’re doomed, ’cause I doubt anyone’s willing to take on the Austin Powers role…

*cough* Anyway, jokes aside (I couldn’t help it :p Really, what’s with the pose?), here’s the actual PV. I personally didn’t think much of it, but yeah.

Now onto the actual songs~

The single itself contains an Opening and Ending of the PSP game GROW LANSER. Since I couldn’t find much info about the game and am too lazy to search beyond wiki, I have no idea which song is what, but I’m guessing Crimson Star is the opening, Link Think is the ending and Wing of Destiny (Vivace Trance Mix) is just a remix of an older song of Maho’s.

First off, lets start with Crimson Star. When it first started playing, I thought I was gonna be in for another soft voice + loud music type of song. It felt generic too, kinda reminded me of Kuribayashi Minami even. But as they say, don’t judge a book by its cover. The song itself turned out rather badass, maybe even kind of what I’d expect of Okui Masami for her game songs, but on a lesser level. So basically, the song really isn’t very original, it’s what you’d find with a lot of action games these days, but it’s listenable. I believe it’s the kind of song that eventually grows on you, probably more so if you’ve played the game, but I don’t think I’ll be giving it that much time…

The second song, Link Think, is probably my favorite out of the three. I don’t really like the vocals (you know, when you listen to Mizuki Nana’s awesome voice all day long, it’s a bit hard going back to the softy voices…) but regardless, the music has some parts that are quite nice. It still doesn’t quite get there as a good song, but I recommend it anyway to anyone who can bare with all the high notes.

For the third song, Wing of Destiny (Vivace Trance mix), I can’t really comment much. For one thing, I haven’t heard the original to say anything about the difference between them. As for this mixed version as a stand alone song, all I can say is that if you’re into your generic game songs, then you’ll be fine with it probably. I personally could only think of the violins trying and failing at sounding cool. It’s like a bad copy of Chihara Minori’s Paradise Lost

So basically, other than the lol from the Austin Powers (probably unintentional) parody, I felt that the single was a bit of a waste of my time. I’m probably just keeping Link Think for the heck of it, but I do wonder if I’ll actually ever remember to listen to it =x

One response to “Tomita Maho x Austin Powers o.O?

  1. Pingback: Tomita Maho x Austin Powers o.O?