Shangri-la ep 9 – Sadists, transformers, love, more yuri and how the mighty fall…

Seems the loli can't wait.

Seems the loli can't wait.

[POST CONTAINS SPOILERS – YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED]

Just in case some people think my reviews are vague and do not contain spoilers, I’m going to replicate the above message hereafter in my review posts.  Yes, people, my reviews contain massive spoilers.  While I choose to omit some information and might not give a full account of what transpires in each episode, chances are I’m going to give more than enough information about the episode I’m reviewing, even with all the distorted fun 😛  Also, my review takes into account that people reading it either 1. read to see whether it seems interesting enough to pick up or 2. are already watching it and checking in on the episode, whether they have watched it already or not.  I’m not really reviewing the thing for a third, indifferent party who wants all the facts.  I’m doing it for the fun of it 😛Episode 8 stopped at the solar eclipse and the weirdoes playing “Oni-san, come here yada yada”.  As we’ve already seen, it’s basically Mikuni having fun with Mi~ko and her servants.  For some reason Mikuni can’t go outside during the day and she doesn’t like that at all.  Sounds like some sort of undead to me, but she’s too cute, so we’ll disregard that thought.

However! From what I read at Sankaku, you could actually get arrested in Japan for that... Talk about nutcases...

However! From what I read at Sankaku, you could actually get arrested in Japan for doing that... Talk about trigger happy...

Not sure what the deal is but Sayoko the Sadist seems to be rather fond of Mikuni.  Not sure what the deal is.

Not sure what the deal is but Sayoko the Sadist seems to be rather fond of Mikuni.

Anyway, remember Gar Kuniko, Trans Momoko and Fanservice Tomoka are somewhere nearby?  Sayoko sees them and fires without warning.  Obviously our epic characters manage to hide.

... Monoko is stealing my lines... No wait, s/he has even better lines...

... Monoko is stealing my lines... No wait, s/he has even better lines...

What follows is the epic battle of Sayoko the Sadist versus Momoko the Transformer.  Have fun!  I don’t even need to comment most of the time, their lines alone are hilarious.

Now she wants to see the bad guys.

Now she wants to see the bad guys.

You said it! ... >_>

You said it! ... >_>

Transformer.  All my doubts have been cast away.

Transformer. All my doubts have been cast away.

Leave a man for a real girl, will you?

What's this, inverted-reverse gang****?

The chastity belts! Wear the chastity belts!!

The chastity belts! Wear the chastity belts!!

No further comment

No further comment

You tell her, TransMomoko!

You tell her, TransMomoko!

You gave her a boost, idiot!

You gave her a boost, idiot!

Y-Y-Your dog's gay!... And shotas eat you for breakfast! And your panties... AREN'T STRIPED!

Aren't you embarrassing yourself pretty nicely already?

It doesn't matter what you do, she likes it.

It doesn't matter what you do, she likes it.

I bet Japanese are slitting their wrists because of that.

I bet Japanese are slitting their wrists because of that.

Long story short, Momoko owns everything, gets Sayoko excited and they’re both having fun.  Arguing that Momoko might lose, Kuniko attacks Mikuni’s carriage.  Due to the commotion, Momoko lands a good blow on Sayoko but Sayoko uses a tranquilizer to defeat Momoko.  Kuniko attacks a second time but Mi~ko steps out and stops the second boomerang attack, but s/he is rendered unconscious.  Shortly afterwards, an unconscious Momoko gets kidnapped and the loli and her custody leave.

Even Gar Kuniko couldn't stop them

Even Gar Kuniko couldn't stop them

Then we have a sequences of Atlas’ faction scenes, where reports about the incident is discussed, Sion going into “punish-me-mistress-mode” (looks around… phew… she’s not here…), then we have loli Ishida Karin (I really like this one) talking with one of her bankrupt colleagues.

Karin is teh win ^^

Karin is teh win ^^

And here’s more Momoko-Sayoko fun.

Poor guy...

Poor guy...

So, the men yesterday weren't enough...

So, the men from before weren't enough...

Not everyone takes theirs from poor Kuniko you know... >_< Seriously, give them back.

Not everyone takes theirs from poor Kuniko you know... >_< Seriously, give them back.

Nononononono, I'm CERTAINLY NOT talking about, nono. absolutely not!

Nononononono, I'm CERTAINLY NOT talking about that, nono. absolutely not!

*gulp*

"You ARE talking about them... Aren't you...?"

... I'm not sure whether I should laugh or cry at this...

... I'm not sure whether I should laugh or cry at this...

Meanwhile, Kuniko was already having her fun, feeling Tomoka all over *nodnod

"Kuniko, where are you touching?"

"Kuniko, where are you touching?"

I leave the comments to you

I leave the comments to you

OK the real story is that Mi~ko is still unconscious and Mikuni stays by her side.  Sayoko visits Momoko and at some point spots Momoko’s earring, which is the same as Mikuni’s  and demands to learn more about it.   The Joker is visiting your usual strange entity called Lord Hiruko, who made some sort of prophecy that the successors, the Sun and the Moon, will bring peace to the land (which obviously enough by now is about Kuniko and Mikuni).  His body decomposes so they bring a fresh sacrifice (poor girl), drop her into that strange pool and Lord Hiruko emerges anew and of course screams when he has…ahem… visions.  Meanwhile, Kuniko carries Tomoka, who was injured in the previous battle, back to the village.  They reach the village, where everyone welcomes them.  Eventually someone asks where Momoko is, which casts a shadow on Kuniko’s face (the Kuniko images interjected into Momoko’s prison time really go here, but I thought I’d put them there for laughs).

Metal Age is still busy digging the tunnel to where Kuniko was held.  The news haven’t reached them so Kuniko thought she’d have some fun.

You, midget, get to wor- O_O

You, midget, get to wor- O_O

Going back to Atlas, loli Karin isn’t too pleased with how MEDUSA keeps ignoring her while looking at Jupiter’s Great Red Spot, then finds out Tarsian (some sort of mysterious individual who seems more important as the story progresses) has higher command priority.

Angry loli is scary... Thank God it was just the lolipop...

Angry loli is scary... Thank God it was just the lolipop...

Then MEDUSA apparently tweaks a satellite and shoots a beam in the middle of the sea that alerts both Karin and the Joker’s goons, who are apparently trying to spot MEDUSA.

Finally, Kuniko and the others eventually dig their way to the prison.

How the mighty fall

How the mighty fall

I was kinda hoping this wasn't the case.

I was kinda hoping this wasn't the case.

Despite the director messing it a bit up with the next few scenes, there’s no doubt that this was a rather poignant scene.  I hope next time Kuniko won’t be so obliviously optimistic in her endeavours.

Goodbye, all you hot chicks...  Thanks for the ep 8 laughs.  You will be missed.

Goodbye, all you hot prison girls... Thanks for all the ep 8 laughs. You will be missed T-T

And we end with this sorry state of affairs… I kinda wish Shangri-la could maintain its fun a bit more, but apparently we’re getting into more serious parts.  That also means that the style of the review might also change, if there’s not enough good stuff to laugh at.  That also means that the reviews might also get shorter.  The initial reason I chose to blog Shangri-la was because of its insane fun and weird characters.  Well, the weird characters are there, but I don’t know how much the fun is gonna last anymore, based on this episode.

Anyway, you might have noticed that the animation and the designs are taking hits here and there.  This was really obvious in some parts of episode 7.  It’s not much to complain about in episode 9, you can hardly tell most of the time, unless you pause and take a closer look at the faster scenes.

Other than that, the episode was generally nice.  It had lots of fun in the beginning, it maintained its slightly carefree way until the end arrived.  My only real gripe is with how the director handled it.  If he wanted to show Kuniko moving around the bodies, she should have animated her instead of taking what I consider to be ridiculous still shots.  The usual, cliche but always interesting thing would be showing Kuniko take one step at a time and putting flashbacks between.  Flashing Kuniko here and there makes the whole issue,  which is not funny at all, seem kinda ridiculous, in a bad way, too.

Anyway, next episode will continue with the angst I suppose, but I can’t conclude the post like that, so here’s something nice to look forward in the next ep.

EPIC WIN!

EPIC WIN!

2 responses to “Shangri-la ep 9 – Sadists, transformers, love, more yuri and how the mighty fall…

  1. Re-Hikari June 4, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    “looks around… phew… she’s not here…”

    I am here ^^ And I can punish you all you want too :p

    Anyway, didn’t really like the last bit, but it was an ok episode I suppose.

    • npal June 4, 2009 at 6:32 pm

      Well, direction-wise, that Kuniko flashing around was crap. I’m not sure what the director was thinking. The rest of the scene was good though 😛 I mean bad… in a good way 😛

      … /me runs