Reminiscing on old Jsongs ^^

My first Walkman wasn't that cool T_T

My first Walkman wasn't that cool T_T

I came across a rather interesting survey/questionnaire about Jmusic and such (courtesy of kiseki gurl at THE JPOP MUSEUM) and thought I’d fill it out too. I’m supposed to be studying for my finals now, but I’ve done enough work today, some reminiscing won’t do me any harm.

Anyway, here we go~


1, What was the first Japanese song that you ever listened to?

<_<

>_>

…Would you believe me if I said it was Mizuki Nana’s “Heaven Knows”…? Of course, I’ve heard many anime songs before it, from stuff like Card Captor Sakura, Sailor Moon, Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne, Detective Conan, Inuyasha, Fushigi Yuugi, etc. BUT they were all dubbed in Catalan/English/Arabic/Spanish (depending on where I was living at the time…) so they don’t really count. The first undubbed (shouldn’t that be raw?) song they put here on TV in Spain was the RUN=DIM ending. I don’t know about the opening, since I never watched the actual show (wasn’t my thing, still isn’t my thing), but since they used to put Fushigi Yuugi right after it, I’d end up catching some of the last bits, and that includes Nana’s Heaven Knows. I’m guessing the reason this was the first song they left undubbed (or raw, whatever) was because of how ridiculous it’d be to even attempt singing a translated version of it that fast… So anyway, my thing with Nana is destiny apparently~


2, Did it inspire you to like that group/singer, or did it turn you away?

… Being from an anime that I didn’t care about also meant that I didn’t care about the song… So… uhh… Sorry Nana-chan >.< I mean, really, I only came across this song again YEARS later, while going through Nana’s PVs on youtube 😄 Only reason I listen to it now is ’cause it’s a Nana song, so rather than the song inspiring me to like the singer… It’s the singer that inspires me to like the song, lol


3, What is the song that you have been listening to for the longest of times?

Woot… That’s gotta be Sakamoto Maaya’s “Hemisphere”. One of the very first Jsongs that I downloaded, and I still love it, even though I never watched its anime 😄 (That’d be RahXephon by the way. I didn’t watch the anime ’cause I didn’t like the character designs, but I do own all three manga volumes… in Spanish :p)


4, What group/singer have you liked the longest?

Uff… tough… tough… I’ve known many from the start… And I still listen to their songs sometimes… If I really had to pick one… I suppose that’d be L’Arc~en~Ciel =/ It was their “Blurry Eyes” song that got me into Jsongs in the first place anyway 😄 I’m not sure about saying I like like them though… Oh well, moving on~


5, What is the song with the most plays on your iTunes/media player?

Erm… I use winamp… I’m not even sure that thing has a tracker thingy… And I keep getting obsessed over songs too… So even if iTunes says “Pray” now, it doesn’t really mean anything >_> That’s just ’cause I decided to go back to using my iPod around the time I was obsessed with Pray >.< If I had to use my own memory though, I do believe the song that I’ve listened to the most ever is either KOTOKO’s “agony” or KOKIA’s “ningentte sonna mono ne”. Nana’s “Orchestral Fantasia” is another possibility though… Or at the very least, it’s gonna become my definite “most played” song soon (once I get over MARIA&JOKER and stop boycotting OrFan and Pray) at this pace 😄 Oh yeah, Three Days Grace’s “Never too late” is probably between my most played too, but that’s not Jpop so shoo shoo :p


6, Is that song your favorite?

More like “are those your favorite songs” and the answer is a darn clear YES. The “yes” includes Pray by the way :p


7, If not, what is?

I already said yes… But those are my favorite songS. If I had to pick ONE, it’d obviously be KOTOKO’s “agony” =3 My second favorite had always been Never too late, but… uhh.. Orchestral Fantasia came and snatched its place, so yay ^^ Third is NTL now, and fourth is ningentte sonna mono ne. Too many candidates for 5th (and they don’t include Pray *whistles*) so yeah, not gonna bother figuring that one out~


8, Is there any one group that you can listen to all/most of the songs by? If so, who?

Mizuki Nana of course ^^ If only for her voice y’know. She also has songs that I never even managed to listen to entirely though… Namely “Promise on Christmas”, BECAUSE of her voice, or rather, the way she just doesn’t sound like herself when singing it >_> So yeah, still, Nana fits that description best. Can’t really think of anyone else… Maybe abingdon boys school, but that’s kinda ’cause they only have one album out XP


9, What is your favorite agency?

Dunno, dun care. Agency has nothing to do with liking the artist. But if I really had to choose… Hmm… Lantis… Maybe? Yeah, I like most of their artists.


10, What is your favorite group/singer?

Mizuki Nana -full stop-


So anyway, that’s that. I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but my taste is music is very… varied… And if you were wondering about the variety of dubbing languages, it’s ’cause I’ve moved from one country to another a lot. I just settled in Spain again (after being away for 3 years) a year ago. I’ll at least be staying here for as long as uni lasts (hopefully), but I have no idea where I’ll be after that ^^

One response to “Reminiscing on old Jsongs ^^

  1. Anata May 30, 2009 at 9:25 am

    i didn’t even remember the first japanese song i listened to…lol

    for the most played songs..well, i bet it will be one of nana’s songs. Because my iTunes Library only consist of nana songs LOL.