My Rise figure T-T

It was supposed to be like this... yet... yet... T-T

It was supposed to be like this... yet... yet... T-T

ANY of you who has a PS2 and hasn’t played Shin Megami Tensei Persona 3 (+ FES) and Persona 4… Just go buy it already >_< … Any of you who DOESN’T have a PS2… Well, They-That-Must-Not-Be-Named-For-Various-Reasons (ie I don’t want to turn this into an uber know company hate post) actually did a PRICE CUT on that… So go buy it and buy the games, too >_<.  Oh and for your information, the English dubs are rather good (if you exclude some… minor… annoyances).

The above marvelous girl is Kujikawa Rise, from Persona 4.  She has to be my Persona 4 favorite girl ^^ So when the online stores made a Wave figure of hers availabe for preorder, I was so set on buying it.  Well, I still am, cause you can’t go wrong with Rise.

This is Wave’s edition of Rise.  When I fist saw it, I thought they could have done better.  Then arguing it’s Wave, I kinda accepted that maybe they couldn’t, cause most of the time, unless it’s one of the top three or four companies creating the figures, it’s just hit-and-miss.  However, just so you can check, Wave apparently based their design on Rise’s usual artbook and Persona 4 depiction.

This is Rise as depicted in official art and in the game manual

This is Rise as depicted in official art and in the game manual

Rise as depicted IN game (some instances anyway, I didn't want to put all her various dresses and faces up)

Rise as depicted IN game (some instances anyway, I didn't want to put all her various dresses and faces up)

Yeah yeah, I know she looks far prettier compared to the figure.  Leaving appearances aside, she’s also great in game ^^ Her Japanese seiyuu is none other than Kugimiya Rie (or KugiRie for short), but I kinda hate to point out that her English voice actress does a FAR, FAR better job than KugiRie does with Rise.

The case.  Yeah it’s not a TIGHT fit but Wave’s edition does work.  My initial reaction to Wave’s Rise was, as I said before, “it doesn’t quite look right and they sure could have done better but it’s rather acceptable and I’m a big fan”.  But then, ALTER, yes yes, Alter ALSO has a Rise figure (just found out today in visiting my usual shopping sites — all figure pics actually take you to HobbySearch’s image page for each figure).  So I went to check it out, arguing that Alter did a totally awesome work with Aegis (or Aigis for English epic localization fail), an important character in Persona 3.

So, am I the only one who went “WTF did they do to my Rise?!!!” I mean, the face is… you know… terrible…  I suppose they tried to use the image on the top of the post (which isn’t one of Rise’s greatest anyway, they could easily get far better shots from the in-game movies) but the end result seems like a failure to me, and coming from Alter no less…  Ok so the swimsuit is win and the body is hot, but then most figures have stuff like that.  I’m not sure if I’d even think about buying it if I DIDN’T know the char… There’ seriously no way I’m buying Alter’s version >_< I’m really disappointed >_<.  Oh well, thank God we still have Wave’s ^^ My main gripe is that I doubt there will be another company to attempt a Rise figure so my hopes of seeing a better Rise than Wave’s version kinda died… So I just have to order Wave’s and kiss Alter bye bye.   And for the record, I usually prefer GoodSmile and MaxFactory over Alter for some reason 😛 Not sure why 😛

I wasn’t gonna blog anything today but this came up.  I’ll shut up again now 😛

4 responses to “My Rise figure T-T

  1. Re-Hikari May 26, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    As much as I’d like to defend Alter (since I tend to like them better instead :p) I really have nothing to say about this one XD Fail figure is fail XD Good thing I still haven’t played Persona :p They’re there though… I’ll play them… Eventually :p

  2. blacksaber May 26, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    2D is better than 3D! banzai 2D!

    x.x

    I still like picture than figures.. >.> And oh yes, Rise is cute. xD

  3. dokimasu May 27, 2009 at 6:54 am

    I thought the Wave version of Rise was pretty cute. 😀

    I agree on you about Alter’s version of Rise. The face didn’t look right. >_> And figures made by Alter usually come out right. But I dunno about this one. XD

    • npal May 27, 2009 at 7:05 am

      Well true, I didn’t say it wasn’t nice, but yeah, I thought they could STILL do better with the Wave figure. But in the end, I’ll still buy it. I hate that I wasn’t able to get Alter’s Aegis figure when it came out cause I didn’t know Persona back then and by the time I got it, it had been outsold >_<

      Well, next char I'd want to buy from P4 is Chie ^^ And Nanako of course. Not sure what's with the Yukiko and Naoto thing. Then again, I was the one who actually dumped Rise on X-mas Eve so I could see Naoto in a school uniform, but that was kinda out of curiosity than anything 😛