HIMEKA single is WIN… or fail?

At least THIS is definitely win XD

At least THIS is definitely win XD

HIMEKA’s awaited Senjou no Valkyria (or Valkyria Chronicles, suit yourself) OP single is finally out!! I’m sure many of you have already heard the full version of the opening (Asu e no Kizuna) through the PV and stuff, so I’ll just say, it’s as good as I expected it to be when I first heard the song in the anime.

The more interesting topic is this though… The B-side song… It turns out, it’s not a HIMEKA original song (in contrast to what many of us had hoped… I was actually gonna decide whether to stick to her depending on this song, but apparently, that’ll have to wait. That could be interpreted as a good thing though, depends…) it’s actually a cover, and for one of my personal favorite anime endings too. “Sayonara Solitia” (or Solitair, whatever) also known as the Chrno (or Chrono >_> talk about different namings) Crusade, which also happens to be one of the very first anime I watched, and one of the animes that had made me cry the most ever (actually, I believe the only other anime that made me cry even more was Air…), ending. For those who don’t know, the original singer is Chiba Saeko.

I don’t know about others, but when I heard of HIMEKA’s background story, and that she had participated in many singing contests before getting picked up by Sony music, I went through youtube searching for videos of hers, and boy did I find some interesting stuff, including this, which is probably the best ETERNAL BLAZE cover I’ve heard up to date. So apparently, HIMEKA was born with the talent for anisong covers? I’ve been trying to compare the original Sayonara Solitia with her version, but I like both quite a lot… Actually, vocal-wise, I think I prefer HIMEKA’s, and it’s not like the change in music is her doing, so yeah.

So here’s the deal, HIMEKA has a pretty decent voice, but the way I see it, she’s not sure what she wants to sing? If the fact that she’s (yet another) Mizuki Nana fan is any indicator, she should (hopefully) be picking up good songs eventually, but let’s hope Sony doesn’t give up on her before that >_>;

Anyway, I still don’t know what to make of this single… I definitely like the cover a lot, but… It’s not what I was expecting (apparently, Nana and HIMEKA are plotting against my expectations or something >_>). Here’s to hoping she’ll release something else soon enough for us to be able to finally have a proper impression of her >.<

As much as I’d like to embed something for the cover song, I didn’t find anything on youtube, and I’m too lazy to search in other places, so for now, I’m just leaving the Asu e no Kizuna PV~

2 responses to “HIMEKA single is WIN… or fail?

  1. Anata May 26, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Ah Sayonara Solitia…made me nostalgic lol

    yeah, it’s a waste if she keep singing non-original song. She can’t possibly do that for a long time too.

  2. blacksaber May 26, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    yeah, that’s for sure it’s a shock to see “Sayonara Solitaire” in the single.

    Although listening to it makes me cry.. because the final end of Chrono Crusade anime.

    Anyway, the Asu he no Kizuna is truly great. Please go to my blog for complete romaji and translation for the song xD