MARIA&JOKER… Ultimate Bond retardedness…

The new Smile Gang theme...?

The new Smile Gang theme...?

So apparently, Mizuki Nana thought that singing a song a la James Bond will help her with her goal of going mainstream… You know what… I believe it will… But if I hadn’t liked her so much already, she might have lost me as an older fan too…

First off, I’ve always detested James Bond. Second, I’ve never liked it when Nana changed her singing style to sound American (I almost hate that Promise on Christmas song of hers). Third, I had RIDICULOUSLY high expectations for MARIA&JOKER (what with HIBIKI being my favorite lyricist, Agematsu Noriyasu my favorite composer/arranger, the combo of them together being my favorite too AND Orchestral Fantasia being my favorite Nana song with Pray being somewhere close as well…). Needless to say, I… was… disappointed…

You know, when the song first started playing, I found myself ROFLing. If it had been any other song, I might’ve let it go as another one of Nana’s retarded songs, but… my hopes… I was seriously expecting so much from this song… I was really looking forward to it >.< Nana herself had mentioned it on her blog, saying something about finishing the recording of a song with really unique music or something (I can’t remember what she said exactly, but it was something along these lines). And the amusing title of the song only added to the curiosity. But alas, it got streamed, I was disappointed, I know of many people that’ll love this song regardless, and YAY Nana will go mainstream thanks to this song (probably) -_-

Oh yeah, and here’s the youtube video embed… Now me go sulk in a corner >_>

6 responses to “MARIA&JOKER… Ultimate Bond retardedness…

  1. kiseki gurl May 25, 2009 at 3:35 am

    LOL what a weird song. I can see myself (eventually) liking its strangeness in the future :3.

  2. Suzumiya Haruhi May 25, 2009 at 5:35 am

    Habe you seen the last two bonds?

  3. Anata May 25, 2009 at 10:13 am

    i LOL’d pretty hard for the first 30 seconds…

    Wondering what kind of PV would it be if they ever made one… :3

  4. Re-Hikari May 25, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Yeah, I was wondering about the PV as well today… Many of the songs on Ultimate Diamond already have PVs, but this song is too unique to not give it its own…

    @Haruhi: I do believe I’ve watched at least one Bond movie ever since they got the “new guy”, if that’s what you mean. I still don’t like it :p Secret agent action is fail :p Although, liking Bond is really beyond the point, the song is still ridiculous…

  5. Anata May 26, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Still expecting Nana-sama 4th Musume though…

    • Re-Hikari May 26, 2009 at 5:15 pm

      I seriously doubt we’ll be getting any other new songs… I mean, all the streams have been on Sundays and next Sunday would already be the 31st… I really don’t see the point of streaming a new song 3 days before the album release date XD Plus, I already mentioned I was expecting to know 2/3 of the songs before the release, and MARIA&JOKER marked the 10th known song, so yeah, I really doubt we’ll be getting any more new stuff streamed now. But then again… My expectations seem to like to be toyed with, so who knows ^^;